

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Youth Plan 2020-2022 Turning Voice into Action - Rebuilding and Recovering

Portfolio Youth

On 1 July 2020, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that the Youth Plan 2020-2022: Turning Voice into Action Rebuilding and Recovering (the Youth Plan), attached to the paper under SWC-20-SUB-0088, is an action under the Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy;
- 2 **noted** that COVID-19 will disproportionately impact rangatahi, and in particular rangatahi Māori, Pacific young people, rainbow young people, and disabled young people, aged 17-24 years, and the Youth Plan aims to mitigate these impacts;
- noted that the Youth Plan has been informed by engagement with rangatahi and the youth sector, as well as COVID-19 specific evidence, and was developed in collaboration with the Youth Plan Cross-Agency Working Group;
- **agreed** to the Youth Plan and to the Minister for Youth publicly releasing the Youth Plan via soft launch in late July 2020;
- authorised the Minister for Youth to make decisions about minor editorial changes, design changes, and translations to the Youth Plan without further Cabinet approval;
- **invited** the Minister for Youth to provide six-monthly progress reports to SWC on the Youth Plan;
- **noted** that a measurement framework for the Youth Plan is under development, which will be presented as part of the first six-monthly progress report to SWC;
- 8 **agreed** that a review of the Youth Plan be undertaken two years after its launch;
- 9 **invited** the Minister for Youth to report back to SWC on findings following the review of the Youth Plan.

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

IN CONFIDENCE

SWC-20-MIN-0088

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Aupito William Sio

Jan Logie, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for SWC Office of the SWC Chair